Winners announced for Additional Qualification Teaching Award for Excellence

September 29, 2010

Congratulations to Keith Hole and Maureen O’Neill, winners of the Additional Qualification Teaching Award for Excellence for the summer session, 2010.

Ranked as a leader in online education, Western’s Continuing Teacher Education program offers over 150 courses for teachers wishing to expand their skills and professional development. The Award for Excellence was established in 2007 to recognise instructors such as Keith and Maureen, who contribute so much to the success of this program. Specifically, students are invited to nominate an instructor who, in their opinion, has provided an outstanding classroom experience, either online or onsite. With 27 extremely deserving nominations for this summer’s session, the award committee faced a difficult task.

Keith HoleKeith Hole is well known for his teaching in the Bachelor of Education program as well as the AQ program. Students nominated Keith for his teaching of the Intermediate ABQ course; they consistently commended his ability to foster a collaborative virtual classroom. Describing him as “amazing”, “outstanding” and “insightful”, students praised Keith for challenging them to “a new level of learning”.

Maureen O'NeillMaureen O’Neil is also a familiar face around the Faculty, well known for her teaching in the preservice program as well as in Continuing Teacher Education. Maureen’s students enthusiastically praised her teaching of the Senior Science courses, noting her personal connection with each and every student and describing her as an instructor who truly cares about their success. As one nominator wrote “If my students feel as good about their learning experiences with me as I feel about Maureen, then I will pat myself on the back for I know I am making a difference and truly helping others learn and grow.”

Congratulations again to Keith and Maureen on their very well-deserved awards!

Related News

2014 AQ Instructor Awards

Additional Qualifications Award of Excellence

AQ Teaching Award Winners

Additional Qualifications Award of Excellence

AQ Award of Teaching Excellence

Additional Qualifications Award of Excellence