People, Research

Larsen recognized for service in comparative and international education

April 23, 2020

Professor Marianne Larsen has received the David Wilson Award from the Comparative and International Education Society of Canada.

Mentorship. Service. Leadership. The Comparative and Interational Education Society of Canada (CIESC) has recognized these attributes in Education professor Marianne Larsen with the David Wilson Award.

Larsen’s contributions to education research are too numerous to count, said Education professor and CIESC vice-president and chair of the award adjudication committee, Melody Viczko. But, Larsen’s contributions as CIESC journal editor, her keynote presentations and her global service to the CIESC Board of Directors and executive committee as well as to the Canadian Society for the Study of Education (CSSE) Board and the US-based Comparative and International Education Society were some of the reasons why she was selected.

"The vote was unanimous among the adjudication committee members," said Viczko.

The award presentation was to occur during CSSE’s annual meeting at Western in June. However, the COVID-19 global pandemic cancelled the event. Instead, Larsen will be recognized during next year’s annual meeting at the University of Alberta.

Larsen notes that she is honoured to be in the company of women, such as Vandra Masemann, Ruth Hayhoe, Suzanne Majhanovich, and Cecille DePass who have been great mentors to her and comparativists she aims to emulate, especially in supporting new and emerging scholars in the field.

"To be a part of a group of such esteemed and supportive women in the field of comparative and international education is the biggest honour I could ever receive," she said.

The David Wilson Award, open to Canadian and international scholars, recognizes outstanding achievement and contribution in research, mentorship and teaching. The award is named in memory of Dr. David Wilson and acknowledges his life-long contributions to CIESC and to the field of comparative education.

"With this award, I’m following in the heels of previous winners from our Faculty of Education, such as Allan Pitman and Suzanne Majhanovich," said Larsen. "As a faculty, we have a lot to be proud of in terms of what we’ve given to the CIESC, and more broadly, to the field of comparative and international education."

Recipients must meet the award’s four criteria: long-term distinguished service to CIESC; distinguished achievement in research and teaching; exemplary mentorship of students as well as service to the international network of comparative and international scholars.

The CIESC promotes comparative and international studies in Canadian education and internationally and is a member society of the CSSE.

Related News

From research to politics

Marianne Larsen