Award for Excellence winners announced

June 04, 2019

Angela De Jong, Derek Tangredi and Diane Schelhaas are the recipients of the Award for Excellence.

For the first time, the Faculty of Education has recognized Alternative Field Experience hosts with an award.

The Award for Excellence recognizes community members’ outstanding work with teacher candidates.

The winners are:

  • Derek Tangredi, Fair Chance Learning – Community Division
  • Angela De Jong, Turner Fenton Secondary School, Peel District School Board – Ontario K-12 Division
  • Diane Schelhaas, Strathroy Community Christian School – Other School Division

The Other School Division includes private schools, daycares and post-secondary institutions.

The awards were presented during the Joan Pedersen Annual Lecture at the Faculty of Education.

Winners are nominated each year by the Teacher Candidates with whom they work. From the nominees, a committee within the Faculty of Education selected the winners.

Western Education established the AFE to help their teacher candidates stand out from competing faculties of education. The AFE increases teacher candidates’ marketability because they showcase their skills and they get hands-on experience with job applications as they have to apply to organizations for their placement. Teacher candidates also develop soft skills, such as networking and making cold calls when finding their placements.

Related News

AFE supervisor awards

Alternative Field Experience

Education grad feels right where he belongs

Alternative Field Experience

AFE at Blyth Academy

Alternative Field Experience