Community, People

Yeo receives CREVAWC Everyday Hero Award

June 14, 2019

Everyday Hero Award recipient Shelley Yeo, left, and CREVAWC Community Director Barb MacQuarrie. (Photo: Emily Kumpf)

Shelley Yeo’s more than 30 years of working to prevent violence against women and girls was recognized by the Centre for Research and Education on Violence Against Women and Children (CREVAWC).

The Assistant Executive Director of Anova received the Everyday Hero Award during CREVAWC’s Annual General Meeting held at the Goodwill Industries.

The Everyday Hero Award recognizes a person’s ideas, efforts and dedication that makes a difference in the lives of other people.

Yeo’s community service has touched many people, said CREVAWC Community Director, Barb MacQuarrie. During Yeo’s three decades of service, she has taken on a variety of roles without complaint while performing each task with conviction.

“She’s done it with flair and she’s done it with love,” said MacQuarrie.

Anova provides a safe place, shelter, support, counselling and resources for abused women and children. The organization was formed as a result of a merger between Women’s Community House and the Sexual Assault Centre of London.

“Sometimes it feels not much has changed,” said Yeo. “However, I know that without taking action, nothing will change. Each action makes a difference in what we’re doing.”

She also believes each person’s role in working to end gender-based violence is valuable, important, equal and necessary.

“We don’t do this work alone,” said Yeo. “We don’t do it in a silo.”

Yeo is hopeful attitudes towards violence against women and children will change with the recent recommendations from the National Inquiry into Missing and Murdered Indigenous Women and Girls.

During the meeting, CREVAWC also recognized the outstanding work of graduate students for the 2018-19 academic year. Corrinne Qureshi and Kristina Giacobbe received the Scotiabank Graduate Award for Studies in Violence Against Women and Children while Jackie Salas received the Elisabeth Steel Reurink Memorial Award.

Read more about CREVAWC.