Faculty Announcements


Gratitude, breathing exercises can create resiliency in children

Tuesday, May 5, 2020

Professor Claire Crooks is featured in a Western Education news article about children learning resiliency.

Writing Commons strengthens writing while fostering community

Friday, May 1, 2020

Jill Dombroski and Christopher Eaton are featured in a Western Education news story about the Writing Commons. It’s a student-led service that provides graduate students with writing support.

Western University marshals resources to help schoolkids learning at home

Friday, May 1, 2020

Acting Dean Kathy Hibbert describes to the London Free Press the virtual tutoring resources Western Education is providing to elementary and secondary school students during the pandemic.

Fall university classrooms may look very different, thanks to COVID-19

Thursday, April 30, 2020

In an interview with the London Free Press, Western Education professor Bill Tucker provides insight into what university classes might look like when fall classes resume in September due to COVID-19.

Ongoing updates from the University regarding the Coronavirus

Thursday, April 30, 2020

Ongoing updates from the University regarding the Coronavirus

Western names Lesley Rigg as Vice-President (Research)

Tuesday, April 28, 2020

Internationally recognized academic leader Lesley Rigg will join Western as Vice-President (Research) on Aug. 1.

David Wilson award recipient

Thursday, April 23, 2020

Professor Marianne Larsen has received the David Wilson Award from the Comparative and International Education Society of Canada.

Study: Bilingualism does not make you ‘smarter’

Tuesday, April 21, 2020

Being bilingual doesn’t improve general mental ability, according to a new study conducted by a team of researchers, including lead author Emily Nichols, a postdoctoral fellow in the Developing Brain Lab at the Faculty of Education.

Resiliency can be learned

Tuesday, April 21, 2020

Professor Karen Bax told community members during an online presentation that social media and modern parenting are causing youth to face higher levels of stress than previous generations.

Ease up on e-learning expectations for kids

Wednesday, April 8, 2020

Professor Daniel Ansari, Director of the Centre for the Science of Learning, said in an interview with Western News, parents can reduce stress on everyone by being gentle with themselves and with their children during online learning.

Special-ed students, families being tested

Wednesday, April 8, 2020

In an interview with Western News, the Director of the Canadian Research Centre on Inclusive Education, Jacqueline Specht, said students with exceptionalities are not alone in suffering the impacts of a prolonged absence from the classroom – the whole family needs to be considered.

Educational planning in a time of coronavirus (Prachi Srivastava)

Wednesday, April 8, 2020

In an interview as part of the FreshEd podcast series, professor Prachi Srivastava provided expertise on 'Educational Planning in the Time of the Coronavirus.'

London psychologist recommends metering out coronavirus details to your kids

Wednesday, April 8, 2020

In a London Free Press interview, Education professor emeritus and psychologist Alan Leschied says parents can reduce children’s anxiety over COVID-19 by telling them news about the pandemic in a measured way as well as stressing it will come to an end.